Top Ten “Gave me goosebumps” lines in movies.

If you watch enough movies and have a beating heart then I’m sure there have been many moments watching films that gave you goosebumps. Whether it was a line that scared you, inspired you or just outright confused you into oblivion the fact remains it gave you chills and you never forgot it. These are my gave me goosebumps lines, in more or less no particular order.

10) Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles – 1990

The first Turtles movie was and remains a phenomenal movie. It’s dark, gritty and funny in all the right places. The chill goes through my body though when the Turtles are at the cottage with April O’Neal and Casey Jones. Raphael is nursed back to health, the Turtles have the vision of Splinter and as the sunrises the Turtles gather in a semi-silhouetted line and all Leo says is:

“It’s time to go back…”


9) There Will Be Blood – 2007

There Will Be Blood is a chilling movie through and through but the most disturbing line comes about 2/3 of the way through the film. The scene is between Daniel Plainview and his “brother from another mother” as they drink whisky in the fire light. Plainview talks about his unbridled lust for power and the greed in his heart when he drops the line that makes my spine slither:

“I can’t keep doing this on my own with these…people [disturbing laughter]”


8 ) The Shining – 1980

The Shining is one of the scariest and creepiest films ever released. This movie solidified Jack Nicholson as an icon and set the standard for the surreal. There are a million creepy moments in the movie, but for me the most bone-chilling comes when Jack is following his baseball bat wielding wife up the stairs. He is possessed and out of his tree when he says this and makes me poop my pants a little bit:

“Wendy? Darling? Light, of my life. I’m not gonna hurt ya. You didn’t let me finish my sentence. I said, I’m not gonna hurt ya. I’m just going to bash your brains in…Gonna bash ’em right the fuck in!”


7) Gladiator – 2000

Gladiator was a blockbuster smash and had some incredible set pieces, action scenes and lines. The most badass and crowd pleasing line is the one that Maximus (Crowe) drops on Caesar when he is forced to reveal his identity. Caesar wants to know who this man only known as “Gladiator” is, because he is killing EVERYTHING. He forces Maximus to take off his helmet and then the eye-popping line is dropped:

“My name is Maximus Decimus Meridius, Commander of the Armies of the North, General of the Felix Legions, loyal servant to the true emperor, Marcus Aurelius.  Father to a murdered son, husband to a murdered wife.
And I will have my vengeance, in this life or the next”


6) Remember the Titans – 2000

This movie is one of the best dramas let alone one of the best football movies out there. The moment that gets me in this film is the moment that the team finally comes together. Bertier and Julius (the main players on the team) share the responsibility of the left side of the ball on defense. During the night practice after a long, arduous and racially tense journey they make a big play and Bertier gets pumped up and starts the simplest and most rousing chant of the whole movie. This is when they come together, and shit, I’m a sucker for heart-warming moments:

“Bertier: LEFT SIDE! [pause, waiting for reaction], Julius: [hesitation] STRONG SIDE!, Bertier: LEFT SIDE!, Julius: STRONG SIDE!” (Repeat)


5) Event Horizon – 1997

Event Horizon is one of the scariest flicks I’ve seen. It’s a horror film set in deep-space. Throw in some inter-dimensional travel to a place that very closely resembles hell, gored flesh, meat hooks and Dr. Grant from Jurassic Park looking like he got run over by a lawnmower and you have a recipe for a pretty terrifying movie. The creepiest line comes when Dr. Grant returns from the depths of darkness as the kingpin of the demons and is all gored-up. His eyes have been gouged out yet he continues to function. Another crew member sees this and asks him where his eyes went and he replies:

“Where we’re going, we won’t need eyes to see…”


4) The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou (TLA) – 2004

This was an obvious one for anyone who knows me even a little bit. I take any opportunity I can to tout TLA as the best movie ever, and my favourite film. The moment that gives me chills and tugs at the ol’ heart strings is right near the end of the film. (If you haven’t seen this movie, skip this one because SPOILERS). Steve (Bill Murray) locates the Jaguar Shark that killed and ate his best friend and colleague and even though all of the people around him have suffered through a dysfunctional few weeks of trekking, he brings them together to go down and kill the Shark. All the characters in the film pile into his little submarine and they encounter the huge beast. Sigur Ros’ Starlafur begins to play and the shark passes over the vessel. Steve says this simple line that sums up the whole film and breaks down into tears:

“I wonder if he remembers me…”


3) Saving Private Ryan – 1998

The greatest war movie and possibly the most epic film of all time clearly has to have some fantastic moments in it. The one that takes the cake and delivers the goosebumps is Tom Hanks’ (Cpt. Miller) last line to Matt Damon (Pvt. Ryan). Throughout the film Miller’s’ team slugs through the French country side trying to locate one guy, Pvt. Ryan, and they lose a lot of lives along the way. The film ends after an intense confrontation in a small town whilst protecting a bridge. Almost everyone dies except 2 other soldiers and Pvt. Ryan. With his dying breath Miller says to Ryan:

“Earn this…earn it.”


2)Forrest Gump – 1995

This movie is a heart-wrencher to begin with and throughout the film there are so many moments that give you either a frog in the throat or make you sigh from a place of deep sadness. The moment for me comes when Forrest rescues Bubba from the jungle during Viet Nam. Forrest holds Bubba in his arms as Bubba convulses and stares into the middle distance. He is losing lots of blood and the end doesn’t look bright, then he says this:

“…I wanna go home Forrest…”

1) The Lion King – 1994

This movie could make Sug Knight cry so if you think you are so tough that you won’t admit this flick made you sniffle, GTFO. Is there any more tragic moment in a Disney movie than when Mufasa is murdered by Scar? Scar throws Mufasa into a canyon being stampeded by wildebeests and he is trampled to death. Simba finds his father after the last wildebeest trots off and says the most heartbreaking line of the film:

“Dad? Dad come on. Dad Get up. Dad, we gotta go home”

Share your goosebump moments in the comments! I want to hear them all. Hell there might be some I’m missing that would have made my top ten had I thought hard enough.

Honourable mention:

“I didn’t save mine.” – Adrian Brody – The Darjeeling Limited

“I’m finished!” – Daniel Day-Lewis – There Will Be Blood

“I think we’re destined to do this forever.” – Heath Ledger – The Dark Knight

“I remember.” – Old Rachel McAdams – The Notebook (I said I’m a sucker for heart warmers)

“Get away from her you bitch!” – Sigourney Weaver – Aliens

“First you have to give up, first you have to *know*… not fear… *know*… that someday you’re gonna die.” – Brad Pitt – Fight Club

“Man oh man…man oh man oh man **BLAM**” – Kevin Spacey – American Beauty

“No, not without incident…I’m coming **BLAM**” – Christian Bale – Equilibrium

GRG

~ by humanmoves on June 8, 2010.

2 Responses to “Top Ten “Gave me goosebumps” lines in movies.”

  1. […] 9, 2010 1:59 AM Challenged by Dillon Taylor at Gamma Ray Gamer. I’ve been watching several movies a week for a few […]

  2. Andy Dufresne: You know what the Mexicans say about the Pacific?
    Red: No.
    Andy Dufresne: They say it has no memory. That’s where I want to live the rest of my life. A warm place with no memory.

Leave a Reply

 
